top of page

creative nonfiction: personal essays

  • Writer's pictureVianna Cecilia

Saudi Arabia

Updated: Mar 8, 2019


Author's Note:


I don’t know the full story of how my parents first met – all I know was that it happened in Saudi Arabia and there was a cockroach involved. So I took the opportunity of not knowing and turned it into a comic.


I took my first (and only) comics class with Caroline Allen in UCSB's College of Creative Studies during the spring of 2018. She taught me how to weave narrative and illustration together (despite not having any drawing experience in the past). This project was not made until Kara Mae Brown's creative nonfiction class in the fall of 2018.


While this is a first draft and I currently don't have any immediate plans of revising the drawings, I am planning to have future works intersect with this narrative.


Thank you to Caroline Allen for making me believe I could write and draw like gold.


















18 views0 comments
bottom of page